Since I’ve insulted my mother by always adding English posts, I will from now on write posts in both Afrikaans and English if a couple is Afrikaans and in English if a couple is English.

Dit was ‘n gewonde Dinsdag-aand toe Leandri vir my vertel het dat sy verlief geraak het op Hector.  Op daardie stadium was ons besig om op een of ander kunswerk te werk en ek’t haar vir weke aan-een gepla om uit te vind van wie sy hou.  Ons was so jonk!  As ek nou terugkyk, kan ek nie help om daaroor te lag nie.
Omdat hierdie my eerste tweetalige-post is het ek nie besef hoe baie ek in Engels geskryf het nie en gaan dus nou ophou om te vertaal.  Hulle is cool, ok? 😉

It was a normal Tuesday-evening when Leandri told me she had lost her heart to Hector. We’d been working on some artwork and I badgered Leandri for weeks to tell me who she liked.  We were so young!  Wow, when I think of how and who we were then and look at us now I can’t help but laugh.

Leandri and I used to be part of a small group of mavericks who took art as a hobby on Tuesday evenings and for 4 years of my life I saw this girl on 85% of my Tuesdays.

Hector went to primary school with me.  He joined me in high school.  His mother went to her matric farewell with my uncle.  We were in the same church.  He’s that guy.

The thing that gets me about this couple is how they just take each other to new heights.  It’s like being with one another is like having your own Red Bull ventilator.  Hector became this super rock star dude (literally – he’s in a band 😉 ).  He also became SRC chairperson and VF+ chair at Tuks.   Yeah, I’m shamelessly namedropping that I grew up with that guy.

And as much I think he rocks I think he’s so much more of a great guy because he managed to catch Leandri – the most wonderful.  SRC member herself and now almost a certified psychologist.

So if one day you meet this then-married couple, give them a high five.  They’ll probably think you’re crazy, but that’s OK.  Aren’t we all? J

